Wednesday, February 20, 2013

Who said yoga is relaxing?

I am eleven weeks into my exercise journey. It has been tough but few days have I really wanted to quit. But little small things keep irking me. For example, I feel alone in this fitness journey. I have done all the work by myself. No gym buddy to keep me coming back to the gym every week. I have no one to motivate but myself. Don't get me wrong, I prefer to workout by myself in the comfort of my own home. But I have been going to the gym twice a week in addition to figurerobics which is my cardio. I experienced a setback on Sunday. Which was day six of level one of figurerobics. I had lower back pain after doing some of the moves. Apparently this is because my core is not strong enough. So all the planks and situps (which are bad for your back) I have been doing are not enough. I felt so discouraged.
First of all, I wanted to cry because I felt so down about this fitness thing. Then I debated whether I should even go to yoga class. Which I went anyway even though all I wanted to do was to go home and cry and go to sleep. Yoga class was hard, I was surrounded by skinny people bending themselves into pretzel like shapes and doing handstands. I had to modify a lot of moves because I am a n00b at fitness. I have a "weak" core and tight hip flexors from years of sitting in front of a  desk, computer, steering wheels. Just think of all the time we spend sitting in day to day life. I like to joke that I have been training my mind and not my body but it is very true.

Now related to the title of the post I will express my frustrations with yoga.
1) It does not make you skinny! Alot of people who do yoga are emaciated from too much cardio or they are naturally thin. I have toned up very much from doing yoga but my body fat is very much intact. Yes I do cardio every week.
2) That awkward moment when you can't do the poses. This is especially frustrating in class when you feel like everyone is watching.

I'm also feeling very discouraged because I joined this site called skinnyo.com. Skinnyo is a site where uses plug in their weights and join challenges with other users. I have been putting on muscles so the scale is going up naturally. I think that some of the women on the site are "juicing" i.e. starving and their muscle tissue is being eaten away so that's why they are losing one pound a day. I might make a longer post about it but this site made me obsessed with the scale! I was working out two hours a day and drinking nasty green powdered juice (with no o.j. so it was less calories ) just so I could see that number on the scale steadily go down. I was weighing myself everyday sometimes twice a day. Then I was forced off the site when the battery in my scale died. Then the number went up after I changed the batteries. So I'm wondering if my weight was even accurate.
I started yoga because I heard the philosophy behind it was not to be obsessed with results but listen to how your body feels but I am still torn between two fitness ideologies. But I know which one I want to be free from!

Yesterday I was just feeling really uncomfortable in my own skin and I had no reason to feel that way. Remember how I said earlier in the post I felt isolated? I actually inspired another person to go to the gym. That's right, I am an inspiration but  I still have days where I need encouragement. A positive post is coming.

1 comment:

  1. Hi there! I happened to pass by your blog while googling for FigureRobics. Just would like to say, hang in there! I'm about the same as you.
    Very uncomfortable in my own skin. Been trying to lose weight for YEARS. Did a lot of cardio but my cores are not strong too. It's never easy but don't ever compare yourself with other people! Our shapes are different so I believe the most important thing is to feel that you are in your best shape. I also think the more stress you put on your body, it will get more difficult to lose it cause it subconsciously make you lose motivation! KEEP GOING! :)

    ReplyDelete